+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 43 1 2 3 4 5 6 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 849

Thread: General Tech Support Thread

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,460
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rather than clutter up this forum with 3-4 "WTF MY BOX BLEW UP LOL" threads, post your various technology/computer questions/problems here.

    If it is something simple, please Google your problem first before posting. That way I can help people who are really stuck more efficiently.

    Lets get this thread sticky-ed please.
    quack

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    29,732
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 325 Times in 175 Posts
    Dear Mallard

    My computer keeps resetting itself. When it turns on it resets itself several times during start up, almost as if the computer has to "warm up" first. Once its running, if I run too many programmes at once, or say try to burn a DVD, it resets itself as if it cant deal with the pressure. It also sometimes resets itself in the middle of things like watching a video, or sometimes just randomly.

    Its been doing this since I got it, unfortunately the company it was purchased from shut down and we werent able to take it back, but Ive been kinda dealing with it for 2 years.

    What info do I need to provide you to let you help me? Bear in mind that I dont build computers or do anything technical with them, so I may not understand your cyber talk.

    Thanks

    Taff
    Taffs super cool site!






    The PSN username "Thisisacode_E" is NPP Poster "Kisses"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    45,056
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 423 Times in 306 Posts
    I've been charged with the murder of my girlfriend. But the thing is, at the time she looked like this other girl that died in a car accident after she drove us off a bridge. Help!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,651
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Internet Explorer keeps trying to close itself whenever it displays an Ormie post.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,460
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    Dear Mallard

    My computer keeps resetting itself. When it turns on it resets itself several times during start up, almost as if the computer has to "warm up" first. Once its running, if I run too many programmes at once, or say try to burn a DVD, it resets itself as if it cant deal with the pressure. It also sometimes resets itself in the middle of things like watching a video, or sometimes just randomly.

    Its been doing this since I got it, unfortunately the company it was purchased from shut down and we werent able to take it back, but Ive been kinda dealing with it for 2 years.

    What info do I need to provide you to let you help me? Bear in mind that I dont build computers or do anything technical with them, so I may not understand your cyber talk.

    Thanks

    Taff
    Could be multiple things. First thing you should try is trying to recreate the problem in safe mode. If you can do that, then it is probably hardware related. You also might want to try booting a Linux LiveCD as well. If the problem persists with a Linux LiveCD running then it is a hardware issue for sure.

    If safe mode and/or Linux fix the problem, you probably just need to re-install windows.

    Try replacing your RAM too, honestly this sounds like a RAM issue or overheating.

    If you still get problems, replace your power supply. You could go down to a brick and mortar computer shop and pick one up, or buy a decent one off Newegg.(I suggest this one.)

    Purchase the cheapest ANTEC power supply off Newegg, and replace the old piece of shit you have in there now. This is probably a good idea anyway, even if it doesn't solve your problem.

    The Power Supply is the brick looking thing in the rear of your computer, probably mounted up top. This is, unless you bought some really small form factor Dell or something. Taking out all the cables is really easy, they either slide right out or unclip. Unscrew the power supply from the case in the rear, and screw in the new one, and pop all the cables in like the old one.



    If you still have problems, post back here with your results.
    quack

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    20,963
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 333 Times in 171 Posts
    My external hard drive won't register in my home computer all of a sudden, but still works in my PS3, is there anything I can reset on my computer to refresh the USB drives or something?
    tootoot

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,797
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
    Have you added anything else? I had a jump drive that the computer wouldn't see if I had another removable drive already in.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    20,963
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 333 Times in 171 Posts
    I don't think so. I'll check, but I can't think of anything else that would've been plugged in.
    tootoot

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,460
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NippleAppleCrap View Post
    My external hard drive won't register in my home computer all of a sudden, but still works in my PS3, is there anything I can reset on my computer to refresh the USB drives or something?
    First thing is to try a different USB port.
    quack

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    20,963
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 333 Times in 171 Posts
    Did dat. It says unrecognizable or something and to click here. It would be much easier if I just waited until I got home so I could give exact quotes and shit. So I'll do that.
    tootoot

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24,753
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dawinr View Post
    Internet Explorer keeps trying to close itself whenever it displays an Ormie post.
    has anyone else been blocked by bryan alvarez?

  12. #12
    Ormie's Avatar
    Ormie is offline Since the 80's has been down with the ladies
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    24,003
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That's M$'s new "Awesomeness buffer", it kicks in when it recognized you're too lame (based on a list) to understand. There is a solution but it involves killing youself. Still, you got nothing to lose by trying.
    VP of Team Remod Ormie 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by manbooba View Post
    Show me a recipe that calls for an 1/8th of a can of anything and I'll admit that I lost an arguement to Ormie.


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4,651
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, I don't understand shit jokes.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,460
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ormie View Post
    That's M$'s new "Awesomeness buffer", it kicks in when it recognized you're too lame (based on a list) to understand. There is a solution but it involves killing youself. Still, you got nothing to lose by trying.
    Ugh, I expected off topic bickering in this thread even though this is one of the few threads that shouldn't have any. However for a mod to say something that stupid here is just mind boggling.
    quack

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    45,056
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 423 Times in 306 Posts
    I'm waiting for an answer.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    20,963
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 333 Times in 171 Posts
    In good news: MY EXTERNAL HARDDRVIE IS FINE I JUST HAD TO RESTART MY COMPUTER THANKS MALLARD
    tootoot

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    682
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I cannot sign onto my 360 account with my wireless router. I have a Lynksis Adapter and the WRT54G routher. When I turn on the 360, it'll say that I am signed in, but I can't get to my account from the dashboard. Any suggestions?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    45,056
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 423 Times in 306 Posts
    Cut your fucking head off.

  19. #19
    Nibbles's Avatar
    Nibbles is online now post may contain neo-socialist claptrap
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,362
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 644 Times in 351 Posts
    I know on mine it wont seem to recognise the internet if I turn on the console before it's hooked up and connected.

    If you go to the last page thing, there should be a systems setting or something and you can run a test on the internet in there, might tell you whats wrong.
    In response to the new NPP guidelines I hereby declare that my copyright is attached to all of my personal details, illustrations, comics, paintings, professional photos and videos, etc. (as a result of the Berner Convention).
    For commercial use of the above my written consent is needed at all times!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,460
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have you ever had it working before with that router?

    There is a possibility that you may have to forward a port to the 360. I have never really dealt with one so I'm not sure.
    quack

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts